Sault Stryders
Running Club

47th Annual Rotary Sports Awards
Reported June 10, 2003 by Peter Ruicci for The Sault Star
Sault Ste Marie, Ontario

Acton, Koskenoja, football Knights in running for Broughton

Sault Ste. Marie's most prestigious sports award, the H. P. Broughton Trophy, will be presented tonight during the 47th annual Rotary Sports Awards Banquet at the Marconi Club.

Downhill skier Brigitte Acton, cross-country skier Viktoria Koskenoja and the High School Senior Football League's St. Mary's Knights have been nominated for the Broughton, given annually to the city's sportsperson of the year.

This marks the second consecutive year in which the 17-year-old Acton, a Grade 12 student at Sir James Dunn Collegiate, has been nominated for the Broughton.

Acton, who spent the past alpine season on the National Development Team, secured a silver medal in the super G at the World Junior Championships in France.

She also won the CIBC Nor Am Cup overall title, the national junior championship and her second straight Pontiac GMC crown.

Having completed just three seasons in her sport, the 16-year-old Koskenoja was recently named to the Canadian National Junior Team.

A two-year member of both the Ontario Development Team and Ontario Winter Race Team, the Grade 12 student at White Pines Collegiate may have clinched her junior team berth following a strong showing at the National Championships, last March in Collingwood.

There, Koskenoja won the Junior Girls' 10-kilometre skate and was second in the 7.5k classic.

After winning league honours by finishing the regular season with a perfect 5-0 record, the Knights, who'll be represented tonight by head coach Marty Smith, defeated the Korah Colts 42-0 in the senior semifinals.

St. Mary's then stopped defending-champion Sir James Dunn 20-7 to win the school's second city crown in three years.

The Knights followed with a 51-25 victory over North Bay's West Ferris Trojans in the Northern Ontario Secondary Schools Association (NOSSA) final and a 34-3 win over Barrie's Eastview Secondary School in the Central Bowl.

That marked this city's third consecutive victory in the three-year-old provincial event.

A number of other awards will also be presented tonight.

Nominees for the Walter Lowe Trophy, given annually to the top male high school athlete, include: Evan Timusk (Bawating), Adam Zuccato (St. Mary's), Matt Parker (Korah), Mike Stone (Sir James Dunn), Chris Luxton (St. Basil) and Ryan Maunu (White Pines).

Meantime, Timusk, Tyler Koskenoja (White Pines), Hannibal Cull (SJD), Matt Chaimbrone (St. Mary's), Jairus Quesnele (Korah) and Neil Joy (St. Basil), have been nominated for the B'nai B'rith Award.

That's given annually to the student best combining athletic ability with academic achievement.

The Ross Winslade Award will be presented to the Algoma District School Board secondary school accumulating the most points for both boys and girls sports.

Top athletes from eight individual sports will also be honoured.

Basketball nominees include: Timusk, Chaimbrone, Joy, Ryan Namespetra (Korah), Adam Carpenter (White Pines) and Thomas Mathew (SJD).

Luxton, Maunu, Greg Egan (St. Mary's), Ron Koski (Korah), Aaron Elliot (Bawating) and Eric Morris (SJD) were nominated in hockey.

Chosen to represent their schools in badminton were Timusk, Graham Atkinson (SJD), Tyler Rooley (Korah), Chris Stone (White Pines), Matt Oliver (St. Mary's) and Phil Fiorvanti (St. Basil).

Cross-country running nominees included: Cull, Rocky Robitaille (St. Mary's), Clyde Bridge (Korah), Paul Martin (St. Basil), Michael Faddock (White Pines) and Matt Fleming (Bawating).

Timusk, Koskenoja, Cull, Chaimbrone, Bridge and Chris Siegman (St. Basil) were nominated in track and field.

Curling nominees included: Adam Boulanger (St. Basil), David Jennings (Bawating), Ryan Harnden (SJD) and Matt Monarch (Korah).

Nominated in wrestling were: Matt Gauthier (Bawating), AJ Stewart (St. Basil), Tyson Day (Korah) and Dylan Fryia (SJD).

And, football nominees included: Parker, Zuccato, Noah Rushon (White Pines), Mark Porco (St. Basil), Kurt Morrison (Bawating) and Dan Kennedy (SJD).

Also, Richard Annett, Pam Torgerson and Bev Holmes will be inducted into the Russ Ramsay High School Sports Hall of Fame.

The Hall recognizes those who have made an exceptional contribution to high school athletics.