Sault Stryders
Running Club

UP Cross Country Coaches Association Dream Team
Reported October 23, 2003 by the Sault Evening News
Sault Ste Marie, Michigan

Sweeney named to cross country Dream Team

MARQUETTE - Jason Sweeney of Cedarville landed a spot on the Upper Peninsula Cross Country Coaches Association Dream Team.

Sweeney, who helped lead Cedarville to the Division 3 U.P. championship, was the only EUP runner on the seven-member boys Dream Team. Joining Sweeney on the Dream Team were the male co-runners of the year Joss Martin of Crystal Falls and Stuart Kramer of Marquette.

Rounding out the Dream Team were Derek Sundberg of Negaunee, Sam Kilpela of Painesdale, Chris Davis of Gladstone and Lucas Hodges of Hancock.

Female Runner of the Year Amber Smith of Westwood headlines the girls U.P. Dream Team. Smith, who won the award for a third straight year, set a record at the U.P. finals last week with a 5-kilometer time of 17:53.72 in the D-2 girls race.

Joining Smith of the girls Dream Team are Marquette's Kylee St. Arnauld, Stephenson's Laura Aderman and Amanda Newlin, Rapid River's Dani Holmgren, Chassell's Laura Kangas and Escanaba's Stephanie Ostrenga.

In Division I, Craig Cooper, Walter Bennette and Michael Osterhout of Sault High received all-state honors for finishing in the top 10 at the U.P. Finals.

Area runners who received all-state recognition and finished in the top 10 are Rudyard's Charlotte Folkersma and Alisha Thompson, and Newberry's Kyle Richards in Division 2, and Chad Schlosser of Cedarville and Lindsey Bawks of Pickford in Division 3.

Area All-U.P. picks, which include those who finished in the top 15 at the finals, include Sault High's Tyler Gage and Jacob Green, Rudyard's Justin Hoolsema, Stephanie Folkersma, Leigh Ann Folkersma and Megan Linsmeier, Pickford's Carl Morrison and Cedarville's Trevor Sigman.

Coach of the Year awards went to Dave Lahtinen of Gladstone in Division 1, Peggy Grille of Stephenson in Division 2, and Tim Kettering of Painesdale in Division 3.

Marquette won the boys Team of the Year, while Stephenson won the girls Team of the Year. U.P. coaches voted for Stephenson over undefeated Marquette, which twice finished ahead of Stephenson in meets this past season.