Sault Stryders
Running Club

Sportsperson of the Year Banquet Tonight
Reported June 7, 2005 by
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

A world class triathlete and two powerful hockey teams are the final nominees for the H.P. Broughton Trophy as Sault Ste. Marie's Sportsperson of the year.

Sherri Smith, who won the 25 to 29 year old class at the International Triathlon Union World Championships last fall is up against the Soo North Stars and Soo Bantam Greyhounds which will be presented tonight at the annual Rotary Sports Awards Dinner.

The North Stars, under the guidance of head coach Mike Hall went 42/2/1 and 1 this past season winning their second straight Great North Midget League title and finishing runner up at the All Ontario Triple "A" Midget Championships.

The Bantam Greyhounds, coached by Dom DeLuca set numerous Northern Ontario Bantam League records thanks to a 38/1 and 1 record. They wound up 4th at the provincials.

Also to be handed out tonight is the Walter Lowe Trophy for the top male high school athlete. Final nominees are; Kyle Gauthier (Bawating ), Jourdin Morin (Korah), Jordan Zuke (St. Basil), Phil Ruicci (St. Mary's), Matt Irving (Sir James Dunn) and Alanzo Clark (White Pines).

The B'nai B'rith Award goes to the graduating student-athlete who best combines academics and athletics. The finalists are; Kyle Lanteigne (Bawating), Anthony Spina (St. Basil), Marc Palumbo (St. Mary's), Graham Dalseg (Sir James Dunn) and Adam Stevenson (White Pines).

Top student-athlete performers will also be honoured in badminton, basketball, wrestling, curling, cross country, track and field, hockey, soccer and football. See list of nominees below.

Three people will be inducted into the Russ Ramsay High School Sports Hall of Fame. The class of 2005 include Art Anderson, Ken White and Peter Ruicci.


Kyle Gauthier —Bawating
Kyle Cormier —Korah
Marc Caputo —St. Basil
Ben Oliver —St. Mary's
Graham Dalseg & Ian Flaxey—Sir James Dunn
Mitch Piper —White Pines

D.J. Wright —Bawating
Christian Johnson —Korah
Josh Marasco —St. Basil
Wes Ontonovich —St. MaryÂ’s
Trevor Laforrest —Sir James Dunn
Mike Wiemer —White Pines

Cross Country
David Dutkiewicz —Bawating
Jamie Kiddie —Korah
Andrew King —St. Basil
John Harvey —St. Mary's
Dominik Graf —Sir James Dunn
Kevin Sawyer —White Pines

Clint Cudmore —Korah
Rick Mills —St. Mary's
Andy Downing —White Pines

Kyle Lanteigne —Bawating
Kyle Leonard —Korah
Frank D'Addetta —St. Basil
Jordan Rocchetta —St. Mary's
John Ellis —Sir James Dunn
Josh Reed —White Pines

Michael Storozuk —Bawating
Jourdin Morin —Korah
Marc Porco —St. Basil
Anthony Amadio —St. Mary's
D.J. Idehen —Sir James Dunn
Alanzo Clark —White Pines

Jamie Robertson —Korah
Mark Cicino —St. Basil
Darcy Lillie —St. Mary's
Matt Irving —Sir James Dunn
Lundroff Kristensen —White Pines

Track & Field:
Kyle Gauthier —Bawating
Tysen Vanderloo —Korah
Dustin Supak —St. Basil
Andrew Posteraro —St. Mary's
Dominik Graf —Sir James Dunn
Nick Peters —White Pines

Matt Leblanc —Bawating
Allen Middleton —Korah
Josh Lynch —St. Basil
Chris Izydorczyk —Sir James Dunn